Just got this lovely sms from my dear friend Bhawna that said, “I wanna go back to the time when ‘getting high’ meant ‘on a swing’, when ‘drinking’ meant ‘apple juice’, when ‘love’ was ‘mom hug’, when the ‘worst enemies’ were ‘our siblings’, when the only thing that could ‘hurt’, when the only ‘ things that could hurt’ were ‘skinned knees’, when the only things ‘broken’ were ‘toys’ and when ‘good byes’ meant only ’till tomorrow’.

This instantly got me nostalgic. I went straight to my good old childhood days..where we didn’t have six cartoon channels coming in our home. All we impatiently waited for was 30 mins “Rasna Spiderman show” on Sundays, out of which 20 minutes were commercials. And, once it was over, we insisted we would make Rasna at home.


Going for movies was definitely a festive thing and not regular one. But i remember we friends and cousins would get together on weekends and summer holidays and did movies’ role playing. Our favorite movie was “Sholey”. My favorite role, i.e. of Basanti, was given to my other cousin and I hated that. Only second significant role i considered was of Mausi. I never did like sad things, so Jaya Bachhan’s role was ruled out.


We didn’t have doll houses, but we had big spaces at home. We would quietly take our moms’ sarees or duppatta(Indian stole) and would go up to our Chhat(terrace) in those hot summer afternoons completely unperturbed by the Delhi “Lu”. We would create doll house by joining chaar pais (single beds with four legs made out of jute. I think the stuff weaved was jute. Anyways..) and covered them with colorful sarees and duppattas. Carpet was made of Chataai. And there we decorated our dolls, smeared them with our mothers’ used & thrown lipsticks. Sometimes we became each others make up artists. And we had so much to share in our friendly neighbourhood area.


Only Barbie doll i got was on my 10th birthday. And I tell you, that was embarrassing. I don’t remember my brother having a hot wheel either. Couldn’t dream of PSPs. My eldest cousin had got one video game that had three games in it and we covetously watched him play.

 

And, thus, we had time to play together. Sooo, we had our board games that we played. Scrabble and monopoly were our all time favorites that we played with our mom dad and cousins. With scrabble I developed my special interest in words and English language.


We didn’t have too much, none of us could brag of having “better than the rest”, there were so many things to do together and share.

Our life was SIMPLE…

But we were HAPPY.


2 thoughts on “It really got me nostalgic!!!

Leave a Reply

